USA 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Final Champions

Star midfielder Carli Lloyd, with 3 goals in the first sixteen minutes of play, led a fired-up USA women’s team to a convincing 5-2 victory over Japan in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Finals, held in Vancouver, Canada.

United States' Carli Lloyd (10) scores her second goal against Japan goalkeeper Ayumi Kaihori (18) as Azusa Iwashimizu (3), right, defends during the first half of the FIFA Women's World Cup soccer championship in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, on Sunday, July 5, 2015. (Darryl Dyck/The Canadian Press via AP) MANDATORY CREDIT
Carli Lloyd (10) scores her 2nd goal against Japan goalkeeper Ayumi Kaihori (18).  Darryl Dyck/The Canadian Press via AP.

Lloyd is the first ever to score a hat trick (3 goals) in a World Cup final, her third coming from just beyond mid-field, at 54 yards. She walked away with the Golden Ball Trophy, presented to the top player of the tournament, while teammate Hope Solo nabbed the Golden Glove trophy for best goalkeeper of the tourney.

The 7 total goals scored marks the highest in FIFA Women’s World Cup history.

The USA team now holds 3 Finals Cup trophies, from the inaugural 1991 tournament and from 1999 while this victory avenged the loss to Japan in the 2011 Finals match.

Carli Lloyd
Carli Lloyd (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Congratulations to the USA Team for an incredible tournament and outstanding Finals game.

Over For Now.

Main Street One